Cork (1-7)
Tipperary (0-19)
Munster Intermediate Final
Venue: Cork

« Fixtures

Munster Intermediate Final

Tipperary 0-19 Cork 1-7

Played  at the excellent Bruff GAA club facilities, it was Tipperary who started as they meant to go on, with player of the match, Cashel's Orla O'Dwyer firing the first of her 10 points over the bar after 3 minutes. The outstanding corner forward had Cork in all sorts of bother who found it difficult to cope with the Tipperary running game, filled with pace and superb team play.  A late change to the Cork line up saw Linda Collins open proceedings for Cork with a point from play, with Keeva McCarthy slotting over 2 from placed ball.   Shannon Rovers Aoife Moloughney was equally unerring for the Premier in placed ball, notching up 3 along with point from play.  At half time and with Tipperary having enjoyed wind advantage it stood Tipperary 0-10 Cork 0-3.


The second half was always going to produce a fightback from Paudi Murray's charges, and it came from Sarah Fahy who cut the deficit to 6, and with the team starting to operate a more open game plan, they ran at the Tipp rearguard, but taking the ball into contact resulted in turnovers for the defence who supplied the duo of O'Dwyer and Moloughney to inflict further damage to Cork.  While Cork continued to battle and Lisa Lynch grabbing a goalmouth scrambled green flag , it was the saffron and blue who played a brand of Camogie that resulted in them being uncatchable.  The team, predominantly made up of this years winning All Ireland Minor A squad, will surely have a say in the Munster Minor A Championship which begins next week for them.  For Cork, while they never gave up, they left themselves with too much to do in the 2nd half, and a possible goal chance missed in the first half would have reduced the deficit even further.  However, it was Moycarkey Borris girl Michaela Graham who accepted the cup on behalf of her team, and a first for Tipperary at this grade since 1999.  


Our thanks to Bruff for the use of their facilities, and to Ref Philip Dee and his full compliment of officials.


Tipperary Scorers: Orla O'Dwyer 0-10, Aoife Moloughney (0-6) (4f), Andrea Loughnane 0-2, Niamh Tracey 0-1

Cork Scorers: Keeva McCarthy 0-4 (4f), Linda Collins 0-1, Lisa Lynch 1-0, Number 20 came on and scored a point but wasnt listed on the program, Sarah Fahy 0-1