Clare (2-9)
Tipperary (4-12)
Munster Minor A Championship Final
Venue: Garyspillane GAA Club, Limerick

« Fixtures
Munster Minor A Championship Final
Tipperary 4-12     Clare 2-9
An open and entertaining Munster Minor A Championship final was played out between Tipperary and Clare in Garryspillane GAA club, Knocklong last evening 3rd August.  
Tipperary began with a strong breeze and led by 1-6 to 1-0 after the first quarter, points coming from play by Eibhlis McDonald and Ciardha Maher as well as a poacher’s goal from Sinead Meagher, who went on to have a big influence on the game. Orla O’Dwyer was making some fine catches around the half forward line for Tipperary and chipped in with a couple of points on 7 and 11 minutes. Clare then responded with a well taken goal of their own from wing forward Doireann Murphy, but Tipperary went straight down the field and Sinead Meagher rattled the net for a second time to stretch their lead again. Grace O’Brien added a couple of frees for the Premier and on 28 minutes Meagher again struck to the net for her hat trick. Regan Conway was working hard in the forward line for Clare and added 2 points from frees to their tally. Keely Linehan closed the opening half with an excellent point out on the wing for Tipp, and at half time the scoreline read Tipperary 3-9 Clare 1-2.
Clare began the second half brightly with a goal from Roisin Begley on 31 minutes,  who ran straight through the middle of the Tipp defense and finished to the net. Two minutes later it was Meagher again for Tipperary who was isolated in the full forward line and finished to the corner for her and Tipperary’s fourth goal of the night. Clare were attacking strongly and were rewarded with three points from Regan frees after some good runs by corner forward Laura McGrath, as well as a point from play by Aine O’Loughlin, with a Meagher free for the Premier keeping them ahead. Ciardha Maher was proving to be a vital link player between defence and attack for Tipperary and cleared a number of balls, wing back Emer Loughman another player to impress during this period. Laura McGrath was proving a good outlet in the corner for Clare and added 2 good points on 44 and 48 minutes. With 10 minutes remaining,  the scoreboard read 4-11 to 2-8, and Clare needed goals to rescue the game. Sinead Meagher slotted over another free for Tipp which was quickly followed by a free from Clare’s Laura Foley.  In the remaining period Clare hit a number of wides and drew a couple of good saves from Tipperary keeper Caoimhe Bourke, and were unlucky when another shot hit the crossbar.
The game finished on a scoreline of 4-12 to 2-9, with the player of the match award going to Tipperary corner forward Sinead Meagher who finished with a total of 4-2 to her name. Munster Cathaoirleach Tofa John Foley presented the cup to a delighted Premier captain Caoimhe Bourke