Newcestown (0-8)
Lismore (1-10)
AIB Club Championship Final
Venue: Cork Camogie Grounds

« Fixtures

Fifth Munster title for fearsome Lismore

Munster Intermediate Camogie Final

Lismore 1-10

Newcestown 0-8

Report by Tomás McCarthy (Waterford News & Star)

Lismore brought home the Trixie Toomey Cup for the fifth time with a typically dogged display at the Castle Road grounds in Mahon on Saturday afternoon.

The black and amber took charge of this final by striking 1-4 without reply heading towards the break. Lethal full forward Caithriona McGlone dispatched her seventh goal in four championship matches on 29 minutes.

A stubborn defence withstood the Newcestown onslaught throughout the second half. Wing back Marie Russell was named player of the match for a fiery sixty-minute effort. She was ably assisted by Shauna Kiernan in the centre while corner backs Sarah Coughlan and Ellen Curran also hunted down the red and yellow shirts. Goalkeeper Tanya Morrissey produced two spectacular saves to preserve her clean sheet.

In their first provincial final appearance, Cork champions Newcestown wasted seven dead balls and saw two close range frees blocked down in injury time. By comparison, Lismore’s reliable free taker Aoife Hannon returned seven points from nine attempts.

Early pressure yielded points for Hannon and McGlone. In a stop-start first quarter, Newcestown then hit three on the spin through Meabh O’Donovan, Colleen Twomey (free) and Therese McCarthy. Hannon levelled matters after a foul on McGlone.

The Lismore defence soon got to grips with the task at hand and the fifty-fifty tussles around the middle turned in their favour as Sharon Williams put in a huge shift. Their full forward line hovered with menace. After an uncharacteristic wide, Hannon punished another foul on McGlone. She added a massive strike just inside the 65.

On 21 minutes, the agile Tanya Morrissey thwarted Colette Desmond at her near post. Newcestown couldn’t muster any return from two 45s. At the other end, McGlone struck her second point. On the stroke of half time, Grainne Kenneally’s delivery sent the Lismore dangerwoman in behind the Newcestown cover. She finished nonchalantly past Orla Dinneen. Colleen Twomey notched a first point in twenty minutes for the Cork side but Lismore still had the comfort of a five point cushion at half time (1-6 to 0-4).

Shona Curran began to impose herself on proceedings and she combined with Ruth Geoghegan to push the lead out to six again. Twomey, leading scorer in the county final, missed her third placed ball but made amends moments later. Hannon replied almost immediately.

Entering the final quarter, Newcestown switched free takers and Colette Desmond converted her first. Hannon maintained that six-point differential after she was brought to ground.

Newcestown rung the changes and bombarded the Lismore goal over the closing ten minutes. Points from Ciara O’Sullivan and Desmond (free) kept their hopes up in the fading light (1-9 to 0-8).

With three minutes of injury time announced, centre back Suzanne Deasy went for goal from a close-in free but Shona Curran bravely kept it out. Tanya Morrissey was penalised for steps in the clear-up operation and the resultant free from Desmond led to a 45. Deasy directed her effort off target.

Hannon lifted the siege with a free in the fourth added minute. An injury to Marie Russell extended this final a little longer. In the last play, Deasy forced a full length save from Morrissey.

Lismore absorbed everything Newcestown could fire at them and a second All Ireland will soon be on the minds of this ambitious group.

Scorers for Lismore: Aoife Hannon 0-7 (7fs), Caithriona McGlone 1-2, Shona Curran 0-1.

Scorers for Newcestown: Colleen Twomey 0-3 (2fs), Colette Desmond 0-2 (2fs), Meabh O’Donovan, Therese McCarthy, Ciara O’Sullivan 0-1 each.

Lismore: Tanya Morrissey; Sarah Coughlan, Shauna Prendergast, Ellen Curran; Aoife Houlihan, Shauna Kiernan, Marie Russell; Shona Curran, Sharon Williams; Ruth Geoghegan, Grainne Kenneally, Nicola Morrissey; Johanna Houlihan, Caithriona McGlone, Aoife Hannon.

Subs: Sinead Bennett for Aoife Houlihan, Emma Power for Johanna Houlihan.

Newcestown: Orla Dinneen; Mary McSweeney, Rose Desmond, Aisling O’Donovan; Maeve Lynch, Suzanne Deasy, Alison Crowley; Zerica Griffen, Evelyn Crowley; Maria Keneally, Therese McCarthy, Meabh O’Donovan; Ciara O’Sullivan, Colleen Twomey, Colette Desmond.

Subs: Amy Murray for Keneally, Hilda O’Mahony for McCarthy, Keelin Barrett for Alison Crowley.

Referee: TP Sullivan (Tipperary)