Milford (3-6)
Killimor (1-6)
All Ireland Club C'Ship Final
Venue: Croke Park, Dublin

Photos »« Fixtures

Milford are Champions

Report By Mary Newman


Milford 3-6 Killimor 1-6

Goals proved vital for Milford as they over came Killimor from Galway to be crowned All Ireland Senior Club champions in CrokePark on Sat last. Cheered on by a huge following the Cork and Munster champions always looked in control after they got a nervous opening twenty minutes out of their systems. In defence they held Killimor to just two scores from play thanks in the main to an excellent defence where Sarah Sexton at wing back outshone everybody on the pitch to be named player of the match.

Two Maria Watson goals and one from Deirdre O’Reilly ensured the title was heading to Cork. Two inside two minutes form Watson and O Reilly at the beginning of the second quarter settled them into their game and they proceeded to rule the roost from there on in.

 The opening twenty minutes saw the sides match each other in all sectors and in particular it was good defensive work that ensured this.

Killimor had a lot of early possession but they failed to convert anything from play Martina Conroy on target from three placed balls, whilst Milford’s response was an Emer Watson pointed free.

Deirdre O’Reilly blew the game wide open when she first timed Marie O’Neill’s superb pass to the net after a superb flick on from Regina Curtin.

 Maria Watson reacted quickest to bat the ball to the net following a save from Helen Campbell and it was Milford who led 2-4 to 0-5 at half time.

A Milford point on the resumption extended their advantage Conroy replied but it was now all Milford as they dealt comfortably with anything Killimor threw at them. Ten minutes in Marie Watson struck for her second goal and from her on there was only going to be one winner.

Brenda Hanney did breach the Milford defence for a superb over head shot to the net but the lat say belonged to the new champions as Emer Watson sailed a free between eh posts at the hill sixteen end to send the Milford supporters into rapturous cheers.

 A wonderful performance and a superb end to a great season for a club who worked so hard to win their first county senior championship title, after so many disappointments it was great to see their will to win and sheer determination.

They are worthy champions.    

Scorers for Milford: M Watson 2-0; E Watson 0-4(f’s); D O’Reilly 1-0; M O’Neill 0-2

Killimor: M Conroy 0-5(0-4fs, 0-1 45); B Hanney 1-1

Milford: R Finn; K Galvin, M Walsh, L Healy; E O’Riordan, A Geary, S Sexton; O O’Mahony, A Thompson; E Watson, D O’Reilly, A Watson; M O’Neill, R Curtin, M Watson.

 Subs: L O’Flynn for A Watson (40); D Hayes for Galvin (56); A O’Flynn for Curtin (56); E Friel for M Watson (58); N O’Brien for Healy (58)

 Killimor: H Campbell; J Brien, K Brien, N Hanney; M Duane, AM Hayes, M Callagy; AM Starr, E Haverty; C Conroy, M Conroy, A Brehony; S Keane, B Hanney, D Starr. Subs: R Groves for Brehony (39); N Burke for D Starr (49)

Referee: Ger O’Dowd (Limerick)