Scariff/Ogonnelloe secure AIB Munster Junior Club Championship Title

Scariff/Ogonnelloe secure AIB Munster Junior Club Championship TitleOct 24

Scariff/Ogonnelloe secure AIB Munster Junior Club Championship TitleThe first of the AIB Munster Club Championship finals has taken place with the Clare champions winning the Junior. Click for match report PHOTOS » FULL STORY »
« News

The AIB Munster Junior Club Championship Final was played on Saturday 22nd October in Leahy Park, Cashel in excellent conditions for camogie. 
Clare's Scariff/Ogonnelloe got off to the perfect start with a scrambled goal on 5 minutes by corner forward Rachel Minogue, who continued to be a scoring threat for the remainder of the game, finishing with 1-4 from play. 

A couple of frees from Waterford star Beth Carton settled a young De La Salle side, before Aoife Power's speculative shot from distance hit the back of the net for a second Scariff/Ogonnelloe goal on 15 mins. 
The first half was a tight affair, with player of the match Mairead Scanlan and Aoife Power providing some excellent scores for the Clare side. Caoimhe Drohan was working hard for De La Salle, and contributed 2 points from play during this period.
Beth Carton's frees were keeping De La Salle in touch along with a point from wing forward Ciara Twomey, but at half time the Clare champions led by a point, 2-5 to 0-10. 

The second half was a much more open game, the more experienced Scariff/Ogonnelloe scoring the first 3 points of the half to extend their lead, again from the flying Aoife Power and Mairead Scanlan. 
Beth Carton replied with a free, but long balls into open space were creating problems for the De La Salle defence. Rachel Minogue capitalised on some great passes from Mairead Scanlan and Amy Barrett with two further points for her tally. 

De La Salle were attacking for a goal, however the Clare defence was strong and despite conceding a number of frees which Beth Carton fired over, were up to their task. 
Aoife Power scored the point of the game on 55 mins from out near the sideline, and the Scariff/Ogonnelloe side were on their way to victory. 
Late points from Beth Carton and Caoimhe Drohan ('45) brought De La Salle closer, but they could not find the goal they needed to rescue the game.

A sporting game with an abundance of high quality scores ended on a scoreline of Scariff/Ogonnelloe 2-19 De La Salle 0-15, and Scariff/Ogonnelloe captain Aisling Corbett received the Claire O'Herlihy Memorial Cup. They will now represent Munster in the All Ireland series.

De La Salle:
Brianna O'Regan, Katie Ryan, Taylor Healy, Ciara Flynn, Rachel Butler, Collette Hogan, Niamh Murphy, Clodagh Healy, Caoimhe Drohan (0-3, 0-1 '45), Emma Fitzgerald, Beth Carton (0-11, 0-10f), Ciara Twomey (vice capt, 0-1), Aisling Madigan, Chloe Dempsey, Katie O'Keeffe.
Subs: Rachael Daniels for Katie O'Keeffe.

Aisling Corbett (capt), Sarah Skelly, Marian O'Brien, Leanne Horan, Alison Madden, Amy Barrett, Shannon McNamara, Roisin O'Brien (0-1), Holly McGee, Rachel Moloney, Mairead Scanlan (0-9, 0-6f), Aoife Power (1-5), Rachel Minogue (1-4), Danielle Sheedy, Sarah O'Donnell.
Subs: Cathy Madden for Sarah Skelly, Aine O'Brien for Danielle Sheedy, Clodagh Nash for Holly McGee, Sarah Daly for Aoife Power, Kealy Power for Sarah O'Donnell.